Author Archives: hksar gov

HAD to open temporary night heat shelters

     The Home Affairs Department will open 19 temporary night heat shelters tonight (July 6) for people in need of the service.
     The shelters will be open from 10.30pm until 8am tomorrow.
     For further information, please call the department’s hotline before midnight on 2572 8427.
     The 19 night heat shelters are located at:
Hong Kong Districts:
Central and Western –
Sai Ying Pun Community Complex Community Hall
3/F, Sai Ying Pun Community Complex
2 High Street, Sai Ying Pun
Eastern –
Causeway Bay Community Centre
3/F, 7 Fook Yum Road, Causeway Bay
Southern –
Lei Tung Community Hall
Lei Tung Estate, Ap Lei Chau
Wan Chai –
Wan Chai Activities Centre
LG/F, Wan Chai Market, 258 Queen’s Road East, Wan Chai
Kowloon Districts:
Kowloon City –
Hung Hom Community Hall
1/F, Kowloon City Government Offices
42 Bailey Street, Hung Hom
Kwun Tong –
Lam Tin (West) Estate Community Centre
71 Kai Tin Road, Lam Tin
Sham Shui Po –
Shek Kip Mei Community Hall
G/F, Block 42, Shek Kip Mei Estate, Sham Shui Po

Wong Tai Sin –
Tsz Wan Shan (South) Estate Community Centre
45 Wan Wah Street, Tsz Wan Shan
Yau Tsim Mong –
Henry G Leong Yaumatei Community Centre
60 Public Square Street, Yau Ma Tei
New Territories Districts:
Islands –
Tung Chung Community Hall
G/F, Tung Chung Municipal Services Building
39 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung
Kwai Tsing –
Kwai Shing Community Hall
Podium, Block 6, Kwai Shing West Estate, Kwai Chung
North –
North District Community Centre
4/F, 2 Lung Wan Street, Sheung Shui

Sai Kung –
Hang Hau Community Hall
G/F, Sai Kung Tseung Kwan O Government Complex
38 Pui Shing Road, Hang Hau, Tseung Kwan O
Sha Tin –
Lung Hang Estate Community Centre
Lung Hang Estate, Sha Tin
Tai Po –
Tai Po Community Centre
2 Heung Sze Wui Street, Tai Po
Tsuen Wan –
Lei Muk Shue Community Hall
G/F, Hong Shue House, Lei Muk Shue Estate, Tsuen Wan
Tuen Mun –
Butterfly Bay Community Centre
Butterfly Estate (near Tip Sum House), Tuen Mun
Yuen Long –
Long Ping Community Hall
Long Ping Estate, Yuen Long
Yuen Long –
Tin Yiu Community Centre
Tin Yiu Estate, Tin Shui Wai
     The temporary night heat shelters will resume their functions as either community centres or community halls in the daytime for hire by the local community and cannot continue to be open as heat shelters. People may choose to take refuge from the heat during the daytime in the common areas in any of the 21 designated community centres or community halls. Their opening hours are from 9am to 10pm. For addresses of the community centres or community halls, please browse the following webpage: read more

Announcement of first round results of Public Policy Research Funding Scheme 2020-21

     The Policy Innovation and Co-ordination Office (PICO) announced today (July 6) the results of the first round of applications to the Public Policy Research (PPR) Funding Scheme in 2020-21.
     The PPR Funding Scheme aims to promote public policy research and provide evidence-based research to facilitate public policy discussion. Applications are accepted throughout the year. For the first round exercise in 2020-21, PICO received 22 applications. On the advice of an assessment panel, PICO has supported 10 projects with total funding of about $4.5 million.
     Applications to the PPR Funding Scheme are assessed by an independent assessment panel, chaired by and comprising experienced academics, who will take into account comments of reviewers who are academics and experts outside the panel in considering the applications. Each application is considered on its merits and relevance to public policy development in Hong Kong. A declaration of interests system is in place to ensure that the assessments are fair and impartial.
     Details of the funded projects have been uploaded to PICO’s website ( read more

Appointment of non-executive directors of SFC

     The Government announced today (July 6) that the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed Mr Victor Dawes, SC, and re-appointed Dr James C Lin as non-executive directors of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC). The two-year terms of Mr Dawes and Dr Lin will begin on August 1, 2020.
     Mr Chan said, “Mr Victor Dawes, SC, has substantial experience in securities and regulatory matters as well as banking and financial disputes. I am confident that he will provide a valuable contribution to the work of the SFC.
     “Dr Lin has offered constructive advice on areas of good corporate governance and others of the SFC during his tenure. I look forward to his continued support for the work of the SFC.”
     He added, “I would also like to thank the outgoing non-executive director, Dr William Wong, SC, for his invaluable contribution to the work of the SFC over the past six years. His wise counsel has been conducive to enhancing the SFC’s role as a regulator that focuses on market quality. I look forward to his continued support for the further development of the financial services industry in Hong Kong.”

     The SFC is chaired by Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung. Other serving non-executive directors are Ms Agnes Chan Sui-kuen, Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing, Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun, Mr Lester Garson Huang, and Mr Nicky Lo Kar-chun. read more

Dedicated team to start review on RTHK’s governance and management in mid-July

     The Commerce and Economic Development Bureau (CEDB) announced today (July 6) that the dedicated team to review the governance and management of Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK) will start its work on July 15. The objective of the review is to ensure that RTHK’s public broadcasting services fully abide by the Charter of RTHK (the Charter).

     Mrs Jessie Ting Yip Yin-mei, a directorate administrative officer, has been appointed as the director of the dedicated team. Other team members include Assistant Director of Broadcasting, RTHK, Mr Albert Cheung Kin-wah, as well as serving civil servants or post-retirement service contract staff from the executive officer, treasury accountant and management services officer grades. They have knowledge and experience on broadcasting services, administration, resources management as well as organisation management consulting.

     The scope of the review is as follows:

(1) to review RTHK’s administration, including financial control, human resources management and procurement matters to ensure that its manpower and resource deployment complies with all applicable Government rules and regulations, and that such deployment is made for the effective delivery of services under programme areas as set out in paragraphs 17 to 20 of the Charter, and where necessary, to identify scope for improvement;

(2) to review RTHK’s progress of implementing the recommendations of the Report No. 71 of the Director of Audit, including the need for a transparent and objective system for setting performance targets and benchmarks for measuring results; and

(3) to review RTHK’s overall management systems, processes and practices, making reference to best practices of other public service broadcasters, to ensure full compliance with the Charter and the codes of practice on programming standards issued by the Communications Authority.

     A spokesman for the CEDB said that the dedicated team will communicate with RTHK personnel in the course of the review to understand the department’s operational needs. The dedicated team will not take part in any programme production or editorial decisions of RTHK. The review is expected to be completed in about six months, and the dedicated team will submit a report to the CEDB. read more