Appointment of non-permanent judge from another common law jurisdiction of the Court of Final Appeal

The following is issued on behalf of the Judiciary:

The Chief Executive has, on the recommendation of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission and with the endorsement of the Legislative Council, made the following appointment:

Non-permanent judge from another common law jurisdiction of the Court of Final Appeal

(for a term of three years commencing January 1, 2021) The Right Honourable Lord Patrick Hodge

Effective Exchange Rate Index

The effective exchange rate index for the Hong Kong dollar on Wednesday, December 23, 2020 is 101.3 (down 0.1 against yesterday's index).

Tuen Mun Hospital announces passing away of COVID-19 patient

The following is issued on behalf of the Hospital Authority:

The spokesperson for Tuen Mun Hospital (TMH) today (December 23) announced that a patient confirmed with COVID-19 passed away today.

A 77-year-old male patient (case number: 6691) with chronic disease was admitted to a Pok Oi Hospital isolation ward from a quarantine centre on December 3 due to fever. He later tested positive for COVID-19 and was transferred to an isolation ward of TMH for further treatment. His condition continued to deteriorate and he eventually succumbed at 12.43pm today.

The hospital is saddened by the passing away of the patient and will

offer necessary assistance to his family.

Including the above patient, 129 COVID-19 confirmed patients have passed away in public hospitals so far.

Subsidy amount for Non-means-tested Subsidy Scheme for Self-financing Undergraduate Studies in Hong Kong in 2021/22 academic year announced

The Government announced today (December 23) that the subsidy amount of the Non-means-tested Subsidy Scheme for Self-financing Undergraduate Studies in Hong Kong (NMTSS) in the 2021/22 academic year will be adjusted upwards in accordance with the movement of the Composite Consumer Price Index. The annual subsidy amount of the NMTSS will be increased from \$32,100 in the current academic year to \$33,100.

The adjusted level of subsidy will apply to both new and continuing eligible students. The subsidy is tenable for the normal duration of the programmes concerned. Eligible students enrolling in the relevant programmes will pay a tuition fee with the subsidy applied. Students in need may still apply for student financial assistance from the Student Finance Office of the Working Family and Student Financial Assistance Agency in respect of the actual amount of tuition fee payable.

The NMTSS was one of the priority measures announced by the Chief Executive in July 2017 to support quality education. Since the 2017/18 academic year, a non-means-tested annual subsidy has been provided to Hong Kong students meeting the following eligibility criteria:

- (a) attaining "3322" in the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination (i.e. level 3 for Chinese Language and English Language and level 2 for Mathematics Compulsory Part and Liberal Studies) when enrolling in eligible self-financing first-year-first-degree programmes; or
- (b) attaining sub-degree qualifications (i.e. after completing the locally accredited sub-degree programmes in relevant disciplines) when enrolling in eligible self-financing top-up degree programmes.

In the 2021/22 academic year, the NMTSS will cover the eligible fulltime self-financing locally accredited local and non-local first-year-firstdegree and top-up degree programmes offered by 16 institutions. A list of the relevant institutions and programmes for the 2021/22 cohort is at the Annex. The subsidy applies to all eligible students enrolling in the programmes covered by the NMTSS. Applications for the subsidy need to be made through the institutions concerned. For details, please visit: www.cspe.edu.hk/nmtss.

<u>Appointments to Education Commission</u> <u>announced</u>

The Government today (December 23) announced the appointment of two members to the Education Commission (EC).

The newly appointed members are the Chairman of the Committee on Home-School Co-operation, Mr Eugene Fong Yick-jin, and the Chairman of the Hong Kong Subsidized Secondary Schools Council, Mr Lau Chun-hung.

The two members have been appointed in their personal capacity for a two-year term with effect from January 1, 2021.

An Education Bureau spokesman said, "Given their rich experience in the education and professional sectors, we are confident that they will provide valuable advice and contribute to the work of the EC."

The spokesman also thanked the outgoing members, Dr Halina Poon Suk-han and Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai, for their valuable contributions to the work of the EC.

The new EC membership list, effective from January 1, 2021, is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung

Ex-officio members

Permanent Secretary for Education, Ms Michelle Li Mei-sheung

Chairman, Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals,

Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming

Chairman, Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung

Chairman, Curriculum Development Council, Professor Tam Kar-yan

Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, Dr Samuel Yung Wing-ki

Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, Mr Lester

Garson Huang Chairman, University Grants Committee, Mr Carlson Tong Chairman, Vocational Training Council, Mr Tony Tai Chark-tong

Non-official members

Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau

Mr Eugene Fong Yick-jin

Dr Fung Wai-wah

Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang

Mr Lau Chun-hung

Dr Leung Wing-hung

Mr Joseph Luc Ngai

Ms Vu Im-fan

Mr Wong Kam-leung

Mr Dieter Yih Lai-tak

Note: Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming is also one of the non-official members.