Re-appointment of Chairman and members to Independent Police Complaints Council

The Government today (May 29) announced the re-appointment of the incumbent Chairman and four members to the Independent Police Complaints Council (IPCC). The appointment of Chairman will be from June 1, 2020, to May 31, 2021; and the appointment of four members will be from June 1, 2020, to May 31, 2022.

Dr Anthony Francis Neoh has been re-appointed as Chairman. The reappointed members are Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing, Mr Wilson Kwong Wing-tsuen, Dr Anissa Chan Wong Lai-kuen and Mr Roland Wong Ka-yeung.

The appointments are made by the Chief Executive according to section 5 of the IPCC Ordinance (Cap. 604).

The Secretary for Security, Mr John Lee, said, "The IPCC's work in coping with many new challenges brought by the ever changing and complex social circumstances is no small feat. I would like to thank Dr Neoh for his dedication to the work of the IPCC over the past two years, and also for accepting, notwithstanding personal considerations, the re-appointment for another year until the end of May 2021."

Mr Lee said that the Government was most grateful for the invaluable contributions of the IPCC in ensuring a fair, effective and transparent two-tier police complaints system in Hong Kong. The Government would continue to give full support to the IPCC in discharging its statutory monitoring functions and uphold a fair and impartial police complaints system.

The IPCC, established under the IPCC Ordinance, is an independent statutory body responsible for monitoring and reviewing the investigation of complaints against members of the Police Force. The IPCC Ordinance provides a statutory basis for the IPCC's role and power and the two-tier police complaints system. It also imposes a statutory duty on the Police to comply with the IPCC's requirements. The IPCC comprises a Chairman, three Vice-chairmen and 22 non-official members.