# <u>Press release: Minister appoints new Competition Appeal Tribunal members</u>

Today (20 July 2017), the Minister for Small Business, Consumers and Corporate Responsibility, Margot James MP, has appointed 5 new members to the panel of ordinary members of the Competition Appeal Tribunal (the Tribunal).

The Tribunal is a specialist judicial body with expertise in law, economics, business and accountancy. Its function is to hear and decide appeals and other applications or claims involving competition or economic regulatory issues.

The new members are:

- Mr Peter Anderson
- Ms Kirstin Baker CBE
- Mr Eamonn Doran
- Mr Paul Lomas
- Professor Anthony Neuberger

## Notes to editors

- 1. Ordinary members are selected for their expertise in law, business, accountancy, economics and other related fields. Prior to the making of these appointments, the Tribunal's panel of ordinary members consisted of 21 members (11 of whose terms of appointment end on 3 January 2019).
- 2. The new members are appointed for 8 years and paid according to the amount of time that they spend working for the Tribunal, based on a daily rate, currently £400. The appointments carry no right of pension, gratuity or allowance on their termination. The appointments announced today will commence on 1 October 2017.
- 3. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees' political activity to be made public. None of the new members are politically active.
- 4. Although these appointments do not come within the remit of the <u>Office</u> <u>of the Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA)</u>, they have been made following OCPA best practice.
- 5. The Tribunal is a specialist judicial body with cross-disciplinary expertise in law, economics, business and accountancy. It consists of

the President and Chairmen, who are appointed by the Lord Chancellor, and the panel of ordinary members. Cases are heard before a Tribunal consisting of 3 members: either the President or a member of the panel of Chairmen and 2 ordinary members.

6. Support staff and functions to the Tribunal are provided by the Competition Service (CS). The CS has 17 members of staff and it is headed by the Registrar, who is appointed by the Secretary of State for Business Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS).

# About the new members

#### Peter Anderson

Peter Anderson has been a solicitor in Scotland since 1975 and a Solicitor Advocate in Scotland since 1994. He was a partner in Simpson & Marwick, Solicitors, Scotland from 1978 and since the firm merged with Clyde & Co Solicitors, a partner there since 2015. He has over 40 years' experience in general insurance work, specialising in complex and high value personal injury claims, professional negligence, commercial litigation and aviation disputes. He has lengthy experience as Chairman and Managing Partner of a sizeable law firm.

#### Kirstin Baker CBE

Kirstin Baker had a long career in the civil service and was most recently HM Treasury's Finance and Commercial Director. Earlier in her career, she led the Treasury team coordinating public spending policy and managed many of the Treasury's interventions in individual banks in the wake of the 2008 financial crisis. Kirstin has also worked as a competition official in the European Commission, as an EU policy advisor in the Cabinet Office and as a senior civil servant in the Scottish government, leading work on infrastructure investment. Kirstin holds non-executive positions on the boards of UK Financial Investments, The Pensions Regulator and Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals Trust. She is also vice-chair of the Council of Sussex University. Kirstin is also a member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants. She was awarded a CBE in 2011 for her work during the financial crisis

#### Eamonn Doran

Eamonn Doran is a solicitor who has worked at Linklaters LLP since 1986, latterly as a partner, becoming a partner consultant in 2014. He specialised in EU and UK competition law with particular experience of inquiries concerning retail banking and financial services and was head of the London competition group from 2009. He also has experience of the education and charity sectors including, since 2013, as a director of the Laurels School Limited and a trustee of Missio, a Catholic mission charity.

#### Paul Lomas

Paul Lomas is a solicitor (with Higher Rights of Audience). He has been with Freshfields (subsequently Freshfields Bruckahaus Deringer) since 1982 and a partner from 1990. His experience includes general litigation, including commercial transactions, mergers and acquisitions, capital markets, joint ventures, a wide range of regulatory litigation and defence work, financial services law, energy law, art law and, particularly competition, cartel and EU law.

### **Professor Anthony Neuberger**

Anthony Neuberger is currently Professor of Finance at Cass Business School at the City University of London where, since 2016, he has also been the Deputy Head of the Finance Faculty. He was previously at the University of Warwick as Professor of Finance and the London Business School as Associate Professor of Finance. He also has experience of working for the Department of Energy and the Cabinet Office between 1973 and 1983.