Press release - EP Today



Announcing 2020 Sakharov Prize laureate

Parliament President David Sassoli will announce this year's winner of the <u>Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought</u> at 12.00. <u>Three finalists</u> have been shortlisted by the <u>Foreign Affairs</u> and <u>Development</u> committees for the Conference of Presidents to decide on the winner.

Viktor ALMQVIST
(+32) 470 88 29 42
EP ForeignAff EP HumanRights

Golden Passports no more

Serious security threats through the sale of EU passports and visas to criminals and the recent <u>launch of infringement procedures</u> by the Commission against "Golden Passport" schemes in Malta and Cyprus will be discussed in a debate with Commissioner Didier Reynders at 10.00.

Estefania NARRILLOS (+32) 498 98 39 85 EP Justice

In brief

Energy and Green Deal. MEPs will discuss with Commissioner Kadri Simson the current state of the Energy Union and how to align the EU energy policy with the European Green Deal, at around 11.00.

Women under-represented in foreign policy. Starting at 9.15, MEPs will discuss with Commissioner Jutta Urpilainen how to improve gender equality in the EU's foreign and security policy. A resolution will be put to the final vote on Friday morning.

You can follow the debates live on Parliament's webstreaming and on EbS+

Votes

The **first voting session** lasts from 09.15 until 10.30; results will be announced at 13.00. MEPs will vote on further **amendments** tabled to the legislative proposals on the Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) reform.

The **second voting session** lasts from 14.30 until 15.45, for the **final vote** on a resolution to fight global deforestation, and votes on **amendments** to the resolution on gender equality in EU foreign policy, and to the CAP reform; results will be announced at 18.15.

The **third voting session** will last from 20.00 to 21.15, with votes on further **amendments** to the CAP. The results are scheduled to be announced on Friday at 8.45.