## North Korea: EU expands sanctions against the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK)

On 6 April 2017, the Council adopted **additional restrictive measures** against the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK). These measures complement and reinforce the sanctions regime imposed by United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions.

The EU decided to expand the prohibition on investments in the DPRK to new sectors, namely the conventional arms-related industry, metallurgy and metalworking, and aerospace. The Council also agreed to prohibit the provision of certain services to persons or entities in the DPRK, namely computer services and services linked to mining and manufacturing in the chemical, mining and refining industry.

The Council took these additional restrictive measures considering that the actions of the DPRK violate multiple UNSC resolutions and constitute a grave threat to international peace and security in the region and beyond. The EU calls again on the DPRK to re-engage in a credible and meaningful dialogue with the international community, to cease its provocations, and to abandon all nuclear weapons and existing nuclear programmes as well as other weapons of mass destruction and ballistic missile programmes in a complete, verifiable and irreversible manner.

The Council also decided to **add four persons** to the list of persons targeted by the **EU's restrictive measures** for being responsible for supporting or promoting the DPRK's nuclear-related, ballistic missile-related or other weapons of mass destruction-related programmes. This brings the total number of persons subject to travel restrictions and asset freeze to 41. Seven entities are also subject to an asset freeze.

The legal acts are published in the Official Journal of 7 April 2017. They were adopted by written procedure.