<u>Joint statement by Ambassadors and</u> <u>High Commissioners in Kenya on</u> <u>elections</u>

Elections are a celebration of freedom and choice. During the past months, Kenya has demonstrated strong will and commitment to have free, fair and credible elections and a peaceful transition of power.

Ambassadors and High Commissioners welcome political parties signing Mkenya Daima's Leadership and Peace Pledge, and the National Cohesion and Integration Commission's Political Decency and Peace Charter. We encourage all candidates to adhere to the peace pledge and charter.

Kenya has made huge democratic progress since the re-introduction of multiparty elections. We commend the efforts made by all who have worked tirelessly to realise the elections, provide security and promote civic education, including religious leaders, civil society, media, and the private sector. We trust that all their efforts will bear fruit as the campaign period draws to a close. We continue to encourage the inclusion of women and the youth, and politically marginalised groups, including persons with disabilities. We fully support work to build a more inclusive and equitable political system, and will continue to do so after this election has concluded.

This election is of huge significance. It marks the first full transition in the presidency and many governorships since the introduction of the 2010 Constitution. We call on all leaders — both in and out of elected offices — to work together after August 9 to ensure the democratic progress of the last decade is preserved. All actors play an important role in ensuring devotion to the principles of democracy, freedom and the rule of law.

Kenya is an anchor for stability, security, and democracy – not just in the region, or on this continent, but across the globe. It is in this spirit of partnership that we, like others across the world, look forward to a free, fair, and peaceful election on August 9.

This statement has been issued from the following embassies and high commissions; Australia, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States.