<u>Jeremy Corbyn appoints 20 MPs to</u> <u>Labour's front bench</u>

Following

Labour's advances in the general election and increased number of MPs, Jeremy Corbyn is today announcing 20 appointments to the shadow front bench. These include new and returning MPs.

Jeremy

Corbyn, Leader of the Labour Party, said:

"I'm

delighted to be filling Labour's shadow front bench with a wealth of talent. Our new shadow ministers will bolster the excellent work of Labour's shadow cabinet and departmental teams.

"These

appointments are further evidence that Labour is not just the opposition — we are the government in waiting."

The new appointments are:

DEFRA

David Drew

Holly Lynch

Home Affairs

ATTAILS

Nick Thomas Symonds

Chris Williamson

Afzal Khan

Louise Haigh

Scotland

Paul Sweeney

Justice

Gloria de Piero

Imran Hussain

International Development

Roberta Blackman Woods

Transport

Rachael Maskell

Karl Turner

Treasury

Anneliese Dodds

Housing

Tony Lloyd

Melanie Onn

Women and equalities

Carolyn Harris

Defence

Gerald Jones

Local Government

Yvonne Fovargue

Education

Tracey Brabin

Wales

Chris Ruane

Further appointments are expected in due course.