<u>Government appoints URA Board non-</u> <u>executive directors</u>

The Government today (April 12) announced that the Chief Executive has, pursuant to section 4 of the Urban Renewal Authority Ordinance (URAO), appointed Mr Chow Chung-kong as Chairman of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) Board for a term of three years with effect from May 1, 2019. The Chief Executive has also re-appointed/appointed 17 non-executive directors of the URA Board, including four official non-executive directors, for a term of three years with effect from May 1, 2019.

The nine new non-official non-executive directors are Mr Vincent Cheng Wing-shun, Ms Ivy Chua Suk-lin, Mr Ho Wing-cheong, Dr Lee Ho-yin, Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man, Professor Tang Bo-sin, Ms Judy Tong Kei-yuk, Mr Andy Tong Szehang and Mr Wong Yuen-shan. The four re-appointed non-official non-executive directors are Ms Judy Chan Ka-pui, Mr Roger Luk Koon-hoo, Mrs Cecilia Wong Ng Kit-wah and Mr Michael Wong Yick-kam.

The Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong, welcomed the appointment. "Mr Chow Chung-kong has had a long record of public service and possesses vast experience in the business sector, and will be able to lead the URA to meet future challenges," he said.

The Government is particularly grateful to the outgoing Chairman, Mr Victor So Hing-woh, who will soon have served for six years, for his outstanding contributions to the URA. "As Chairman of the URA Board, Mr So led the URA in undertaking urban redevelopment plans with a broader vision, which includes taking forward urban renewal efforts in Kowloon City under a district-based approach to bring about greater planning and social benefits. Under his leadership, the URA has commenced a number of strategic studies to explore the way forward for urban renewal with a forward-looking mindset. Mr So has also strived to ensure that the URA maintains financial sustainability, laying a solid foundation for the long-term development of the URA," Mr Wong said.

"The newly appointed non-official non-executive directors come from different sectors of the community. I am sure their expertise and experience in their respective fields will help contribute and provide valuable input to the work of the URA Board," he added.

Mr Wong also expressed gratitude to the 10 outgoing non-official nonexecutive directors, namely Dr Ann Chiang Lai-wan, Mr Edward Chow Kwong-fai, Mr Laurence Ho Hoi-ming, Professor Eddie Hui Chi-man, Mr Nelson Lam Chi-yuen, Dr Gregg Li Ka-lok, Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen, Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah, Mr David Tang Chi-fai and Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai.

The new URA Board will comprise 19 non-official non-executive directors (including the Chairman), four official non-executive directors and three executive directors. All the non-official non-executive directors are

appointed in their personal capacity.

The membership of the URA Board is set out below:

Chairman

Mr Chow Chung-kong

Non-Executive Directors (Non-official)

Mr Evan Au Yang Chi-chun Ms Judy Chan Ka-pui Mr Vincent Cheng Wing-shun Ms Ivy Chua Suk-lin Mr Ho Wing-cheong Dr Lee Ho-yin Professor Joseph Lee Kok-long Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man Mr Roger Luk Koon-hoo Ms Alice Mak Mei-kuen Dr Lawrence Poon Wing-cheung Professor Tang Bo-sin Ms Judy Tong Kei-yuk Mr Andy Tong Sze-hang Mrs Cecilia Wong Ng Kit-wah Mr Michael Wong Yick-kam Mr Wong Yuen-shan Mr Wu Chi-wai

Non-Executive Directors (Official)

Director of Buildings Director of Lands Director of Planning Deputy Director of Home Affairs (2)

Executive Directors

Managing Director/Deputy Chairman Two Executive Directors