<u>Government announces appointments to</u> <u>Travel Industry Authority</u>

The Government announced today (December 6) that the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Ma Ho-fai as the Chairperson of the Travel Industry Authority (TIA) and 28 persons as ordinary members of the TIA for a period of two years with effect from January 1, 2020. The appointments were made in accordance with section 1 in Schedule 9 to the Travel Industry Ordinance (TIO) (Chapter 634).

The TIA is a new statutory regulatory body of the travel industry established under the TIO. It is primarily responsible for the licensing and regulation of travel agents, tourist guides and tour escorts.

On the appointments, the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, said, "The TIA will take up a range of challenging tasks in establishing itself as a new regulator of the travel industry in Hong Kong. Mr Ma has rich experience in public service. We are confident that under his leadership, the TIA will work closely with different stakeholders in setting up a new robust regulatory regime for the travel industry.

"Apart from the Chairperson and the Vice-chairperson (the Commissioner for Tourism), there are 28 ordinary members, namely 13 trade members and 15 non-trade members, in the TIA. The trade members comprise individuals who are engaged in inbound and outbound travel agent business, tourist guides and tour escorts, and members of the Board of Directors of the Travel Industry Council of Hong Kong (TIC), enabling the TIA to have representation from a broad spectrum of the trade.

"For the non-trade members, they come from various fields and can provide valuable advice to the TIA with their expertise and experience in the respective areas, including law, accountancy, finance, education, consumer affairs and general administration, thereby contributing to the setting up of a comprehensive and effective regulatory regime for the travel industry."

The following is the membership list of the TIA:

| Chairperson: | Mr | Ма | Ho-fai |
|--------------|----|----|--------|
|--------------|----|----|--------|

Vice-chairperson: Commissioner for Tourism

Ordinary members: Trade members

Ms Lanny Leung Kong-lan Mr Paul Leung Yiu-lam Mr Martin Ma Yuk-man Dr Priscilla Poon Chau-min Mr Jason Shum Jiu-sang Ms Catherine So Ka-woon Mrs Ann Tang Yu Li-hua Mr Tse Yun-sang Mr Jason Wong Chun-tat Mr Wong Ka-ngai Ms Gianna Wong Mei-kiu Mr Michael Wu Siu-ieng Mr Yiu Pak-leung Non-trade members Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung Ms Kerry Ching Kim-wai Mr Alex Fan Hoi-kit Professor Cathy Hsu Hui-chun Mr Chris Ip Ngo-tung Mr Victor Lam Hoi-cheung Mr Kevin Lam Sze-cay Mr Johnny Leung Ka-kui Mr Fred Li Wah-ming Ms Elaine Liu Yuk-ling Dr Barry Mak Lui-ming Mr James Tong Wai-pong Mr Wilfred Wong Kam-pui Mr Adrian Wong Koon-man Mr Charles Yang Chuen-liang

The Government expects that it will take about two years for the TIA, upon establishment, to complete all necessary preparation before taking over the licensing and trade regulatory functions from the Travel Agents Registry and the TIC respectively for the full implementation of the new regulatory regime.