Eurogroup: Hans Vijlbrief reconfirmed as President of the Eurogroup working group

×

Hans Vijlbrief, President of the Eurogroup working group

The Eurogroup today reappointed Hans Vijlbrief as President of the Eurogroup working group (EWG), for another two-year term.

"Hans has done an excellent job as EWG chairperson in the last two years, in particular driving forward at technical level the Eurogroup's agenda to reform the euro area. I am delighted that the Eurogroup has reappointed him for a new term". Mario Centeno, President of the Eurogroup.

Vijlbrief has held the position since 1 February 2018. His new term will run until 31 January 2022.

The President of the EWG is elected by its members and then appointed by the Eurogroup. Vijlbrief was re-elected to this position by the EWG on 26 November 2019.

The EWG prepares the meetings of the Eurogroup and promotes policy coordination on euro-area specific matters. It is composed of representatives of the euro-area member states of the Economic and Financial Committee, the European Commission and the European Central Bank.

Hans Vijlbrief will also continue serving as the President of the Economic and Financial Committee, which prepares the economic and financial affairs configuration of the Council (ECOFIN).

<u>Visit the meeting page</u>