Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures against Belarus



On 17 December 2020, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/2130[1] implementing Council Decision 2012/642/CFSP.

The Council Decision adds 29 persons and 7 entities to the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures set out in the Annex to Decision 2012/642/CFSP.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania[2] and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 17.12.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. LI 426, p. 14.

[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.