Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Nicaragua

×

On 12 October 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) $2020/1467^1$

The Council decided that the restrictive measures should be extended for a further period of 12 months, until 15 October 2021.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania², the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

¹ Published on 13.10.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 335, p.18.

 $^{\rm 2}$ The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.