Appointments to the Boundary Commission for Wales and the Boundary Commission for England

News story

The Lord Chancellor has announced the appointment of Deputy Chairs to the Boundary Commission for Wales and the Boundary Commission for England.



The Lord Chancellor has announced the appointments of Mrs Justice Jefford QC to the role of Deputy Chair for the Boundary Commission for Wales (BCW), and Mr Justice Lane to the role of Deputy Chair for the Boundary Commission for England (BCE). Both appointments will be for a period of 3 years and commenced on 23 June 2020.

Appointments and re-appointments are regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments, and have been made under Section 3(a) and (c) of Schedule 1 of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, and are in line with the Governance Code on Public Appointments.

The Boundary Commission for Wales carries out boundary reviews of parliamentary constituencies in Wales, and submits its recommendations to the government.

The Boundary Commission for England is required by the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 to review the parliamentary constituencies in England every 5 years.

Both the BCW and BCE are advisory non-departmental public bodies, sponsored by the Cabinet Office.

Biographies

Mrs Justice Jefford was appointed as a Recorder in 2007, as Queen's Counsel in 2008, and as a Deputy High Court Judge in 2016. She was appointed as a High Court Judge of the Queen's Bench Division in 2016 and sits in the

Technology and Construction Court, and the Administrative Court. In 2019 she was appointed as the Administrative Court Liaison Judge for the North Eastern Circuit and in 2020 as a Presiding Judge of the Wales Circuit.

Mr Justice Peter Richard Lane was appointed as a fee-paid immigration adjudicator in 1996, a salaried immigration adjudicator in 2001 and a Vice President of the Immigration Appeal Tribunal in 2003. In 2005, he became a senior immigration Judge in the Asylum and Immigration Tribunal. In 2010, he became an Upper Tribunal Judge. In 2014, he was appointed as President of the General Regulatory Chamber of the First-tier Tribunal. He was appointed a Deputy High Court Judge in 2016 and, in 2017, a High Court Judge in the Queen's Bench Division. Since October 2017, he has also been President of the Upper Tribunal Immigration and Asylum Chamber.

Published 12 August 2020