<u>Appointments to Statistics Advisory</u> Board

The Government announced today (May 26) that the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury has appointed members to the Statistics Advisory Board (SAB) for a new term of two years from June 1, 2022, to May 31, 2024.

The SAB of the new term includes 13 non-official members, 10 of whom are serving members and three newly appointed members. The new members are Ms Alice Lau Oi-sze, Ms Janet Li Tze-yan and Mr Michael Ngai To-nam.

The Commissioner for Census and Statistics, Ms Marion Chan, said, "Members of the SAB are professionals from different disciplines. Their diverse background and expertise will provide the Census and Statistics Department with invaluable insights and help ensure that its statistical work will continue to meet the evolving needs of our community."

Ms Chan added, "We are grateful to the three outgoing members, Mrs Cheung Ang Siew-mei, Ms Nicole Yuen Shuk-kam and Mr Edward Ho Man-tat for their unfailing support and wise counsel to the SAB that has helped foster the development of the Government's statistical work."

The SAB is an advisory body established in 1972 to advise the Commissioner for Census and Statistics on matters pertaining to official statistical work. Its membership consists of professionals from the business sector, the academia and the community, providing a wide representation to assist the Commissioner in integrating views of data users, data suppliers and statisticians.

Following is the membership of the SAB for the new term from June 1, 2022, to May 31, 2024:

Chairperson (Ex officio)
Commissioner for Census and Statistics

Official members
Director of Planning (or representative)
Government Economist (or representative)
Representative from the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau

Non-official members
Mr Samuel Lau Kin-pui
Ms Alice Lau Oi-sze
Mr Patrick Leung Chin-pak
Ms Michelle Leung Oi-pui
Ms Janet Li Tze-yan
Professor Vivian Lou Wei-qun
Mr Michael Ngai To-nam
Mr Gavin Poon Ka-ming

Professor Isabella Poon Wai-yin Professor Shen Haipeng Mr Stan Tang Yiu-sing Mr Ivan Ting Tien-li Mr Daniel Wong Wai-hung