<u>Appointments to Standing Committee on Company Law Reform</u>

The Financial Secretary has appointed two new members, Professor Low Chee-keong and Ms Christine Chung Wai-yin, to the Standing Committee on Company Law Reform (SCCLR). The Chairman of the SCCLR, Mr John Scott, SC, and eight incumbent members, namely Mr Bruno Arboit, Ms Linda Chan Ching-fan, SC, Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing, Ms Bonnie Chan Yiting, Mr David Fu Yat-hung, Ms Gillian Meller, Mr Keith Pogson and Mr Bernie Ting Wai-cheung, have been reappointed.

The appointments and re-appointments are for a term of two years starting from February 1, 2019.

A government spokesman said today (January 31), "With the professional background and expertise of its members, the SCCLR has provided valuable advice on the improvement and modernisation of our company law to be commensurate with Hong Kong's status as an international commercial and financial centre.

"We are grateful to the outgoing members, Professor David Donald and Ms Wendy Yung Wen-yee, for their valuable contributions to the SCCLR over the past six years," the spokesman added.

The SCCLR was set up in 1984. It advises the Financial Secretary on amendments to the Companies Ordinance and the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance, as well as amendments to the Securities and Futures Ordinance on matters relating to corporate governance and shareholders' protection, as and when necessary.

As from February 1, 2019, the membership list of the SCCLR will be as follows:

Mr John Scott, SC (Chairman)

Mr Bruno Arboit

Ms Linda Chan Ching-fan, SC

Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing

Ms Bonnie Chan Yiting

Ms Christine Chung Wai-yin

Mr David Fu Yat-hung

Mr David Kidd

Mr Robert Lee Wai-wang

Professor Low Chee-keong

Dr Lewis Luk Tei

Ms Gillian Meller

Mr Albert Na

Mr Keith Pogson

Mrs Natalia Seng Sze Ka-mee

Ms Cynthia Tang Yuen-shun Mr Bernie Ting Wai-cheung

Ex-officio Members

Mr David Graham Chief Regulatory Officer Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited

Mr Stefan Gannon Commissioner, Resolution Office Hong Kong Monetary Authority

Mr Andrew Young Chief Counsel Securities and Futures Commission

Ms Ada Chung Lai-ling Registrar of Companies

Ms Phyllis McKenna Official Receiver

Ms Winnie Ng Ching-ching Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services) Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau

Dr Stefan Lo Huoy-cheng Senior Assistant Law Officer (Civil Law) Department of Justice