<u>Appointments to Quality Education Fund</u> <u>Steering Committee</u>

The Education Bureau today (January 16) announced the appointment of members to the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee (QEFSC) for a term of two years, from January 16, 2021, to January 15, 2023.

The following members have been appointed to the QEFSC:

- * Ms Rita Chan Yin-nei
- * Ms Daphne Ho Kin-yi
- * Ms Promail Leung Kin-yi
- * Mr Addy Wong Wai-hung

The following members have been re-appointed to the QEFSC:

- * Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau
- * Ms Jane Leung Chui-chun
- * Ms Angela Leung Wai-tuen
- * Miss Bella Lo Sung-yi
- * Mr Pang Chor-fu
- * Mr Shum Yiu-kwona
- * Mr Yeung Sai-man

"With the re-appointment and new appointment of members to the QEFSC, I am confident that the Quality Education Fund (QEF) will continue to achieve outstanding results in the promotion of quality school education in Hong Kong," said the Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung.

He also thanked the outgoing members, Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung, Dr Ho Yuk-fan, Dr Brian Lo Kin-hang and Dr Mak Chi-keung, for their valuable contributions to the QEFSC in the past years.

The QEF was established in early 1998 with \$5 billion in capital to fund community initiatives which promote quality education in Hong Kong. The QEFSC advises on the policies and operation of the QEF and also makes recommendations to the Fund's Trustee on the awards of grants.

Since its establishment, the Fund has supported over 11 600 projects with grants totalling around \$5.5 billion. As at end-November 2020, the fund balance of the QEF (unaudited) was about \$10.1 billion.