## <u>Appointments to Protection of Wages on</u> <u>Insolvency Fund Board</u>

The Government announced today (March 27) the re-appointment of Mr Ma Ho-fai as the Chairman of the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund Board (PWIFB) for a term of two years with effect from April 1, 2020.

Five incumbent members have also been re-appointed for another two years. They are Mr Chu Yin-cheong, Mr Lam Chun-sing, Mr Mohan Datwani, Ms Elizabeth Law and Mrs Susan So Chan Wai-hang.

One new member, Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan, has been appointed for a term of two years as well.

The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the appointments.

"I am thankful to Mr Ma for his dedication to the work of the PWIFB and am confident that under his leadership, the PWIFB will continue to ensure the effective operation of the Fund to provide protection to employees," he said.

Dr Law also expressed gratitude to the outgoing member, Ms Leung Fongyuen, for her dedicated service and valuable contribution to the PWIFB over the past six years.

The membership of the PWIFB, which will take effect from April 1, 2020, is as follows:

Chairman: Mr Ma Ho-fai

Members (representing employees): Mr Chu Yin-cheong Mr Lam Chun-sing Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan

Members (representing employers): Mr Mohan Datwani Ms Elizabeth Law Mrs Susan So Chan Wai-hang

The PWIFB, formed under the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Ordinance, is tasked mainly with administering the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund, which provides ex gratia payments to employees whose employers have become insolvent.

Public Officers: Assistant Commissioner for Labour (responsible for wage security matters) Assistant Principal Legal Aid Counsel (responsible for insolvency matters) Assistant Principal Solicitor of the Official Receiver's Office