## **Appointments to Law Reform Commission**

The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

The Law Reform Commission (LRC) today (February 28) announced that Ms May Chan Suk-mei, Professor Tan Cheng-han and Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff have been appointed by the Chief Executive as new members of the LRC for three years with effect from March 1, 2020.

Ms Chan is a veteran journalist and the former Director of News and Public Affairs of Hong Kong Commercial Radio. She is now the Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Journalism Education Foundation. Her rich experience in journalism will certainly assist the LRC in expanding its reach in the community.

Professor Tan is the Dean of the School of Law of the City University of Hong Kong. He was the Dean of the Faculty of Law of the National University of Singapore and participated in law reform work in Singapore. Professor Wolff is the Dean of the Faculty of Law of the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He specialises in international law and has practised and researched in multiple jurisdictions. The LRC believes that the expertise of the two legal scholars will benefit the LRC in law reform.

In addition, Ms Alexandra Lo Dak-wai has been reappointed by the Chief Executive as a member of the LRC for a second three-year term with effect from June 1, 2020.

The Secretary for Justice, Ms Teresa Cheng, SC, who is also the Chairman of the LRC, expressed her heartfelt thanks to the outgoing members, Ms Christine Fang, Professor Christopher Gane and Professor Lin Feng, for their valuable contribution and advice to the LRC over the years.

With these latest appointments, the LRC now comprises the following members:

Secretary for Justice (Chairman) The Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex-officio member) The Law Draftsman (ex-officio member) Professor Michael Hor Mr Allan Leung Mr Robert Y H Pang, SC Ms Alexandra Lo Dak-wai Ms Melissa Wu Mr Justice Andrew Cheung Kui-nung Ms Winnie Tam, SC Ms May Chan Suk-mei Professor Tan Cheng-han Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff