## <u>Appointments to Competition Commission</u> announced

â€<The Government announced today (April 26) the reappointments of Mr Samuel Chan Ka-yan as the Chairperson and nine incumbent members of the Competition Commission (the Commission), and the appointments of six new members. All the appointments are for a term of two years from May 1, 2024.

The reappointed incumbent members are Ms Jennifer Chan Pui-kwan, Professor Fong Yuk-fai, Ms Sabrina Ho Shuk-ying, Professor Vincent Lau Kinnang, Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen, Mr Roy Ng Chun-tat, Mr Jimmy Ng Wing-ka, Professor Anna Wong Wai-kwan and Mr Eric Xin Yue-sheng.

Mr Nicholas Chan Hiu-fung, Mr Calvin Chan Ka-wai, Mr Matthew Lam Kin-hong, Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi, Mr Webster Ng Kam-wah and Mr Symon Wong Yu-wing have been newly appointed to the Commission.

Commenting on the appointments, the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Algernon Yau, said, "The Commission is committed to promoting competition and combating anti-competitive conduct, and actively enforces the Competition Ordinance (the Ordinance) and spearheads various aspects of its work under the Ordinance. I am confident that under the leadership of the Chairperson, Mr Samuel Chan, the Commission will continue to make important contributions to safeguarding competition in Hong Kong. I also thank the five outgoing members, namely Professor K C Chan, Ms Rachel Lam Yan-kay, Mr Alan Lui Siu-lun, Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee and Mr Tony Yung Kam-fai, for their valuable advice rendered during their tenure."

Established under the Ordinance, the Commission investigates possible contraventions of the competition rules, promotes public understanding of the Ordinance, conducts market studies and advises the Government on competition matters.

The membership of the Commission with effect from May 1, 2024, is as follows:

## Chairperson:

Mr Samuel Chan Ka-yan

## Members:

Mr Nicholas Chan Hiu-fung Mr Calvin Chan Ka-wai Ms Jennifer Chan Pui-kwan Professor Fong Yuk-fai Ms Sabrina Ho Shuk-ying Mr Matthew Lam Kin-hong Professor Vincent Lau Kin-nang

Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen

Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi

Mr Roy Ng Chun-tat

Mr Webster Ng Kam-wah

Mr Jimmy Ng Wing-ka

Professor Anna Wong Wai-kwan

Mr Symon Wong Yu-wing

Mr Eric Xin Yue-sheng