## Appointments to Chinese Medicine Development Committee

The Government announced today (January 31) the appointments of 13 new members and re-appointments of nine incumbent members to the Chinese Medicine Development Committee (CMDC).

Meanwhile, Ms Feng Jiu and Mr Tommy Li Ying-sang are appointed as the Chairman of the Chinese Medicine Practice Subcommittee (CMPSC) and the Chinese Medicines Industry Subcommittee (CMISC) under the CMDC respectively.

All appointments will take effect from February 1, 2019, for a term of two years.

The CMDC is chaired by the Secretary for Food and Health to give recommendations to the Government concerning the direction and long-term strategy of the future development of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong, focusing on the study of four key areas, namely the development of Chinese medicine services, personnel training and professional development, research and development, and development of the Chinese medicines industry (including Chinese medicines testing). In the past six years, the CMDC has provided valuable advice to the Government on various important issues including the development of a Chinese medicine hospital, integrated Chinese-Western medicine development, the Hong Kong Chinese Materia Medica Standards Project and the Government Chinese Medicines Testing Institute. The CMPSC and the CMISC have been set up under the CMDC to focus deliberation on respective areas.

The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, thanked outgoing members of the committee and subcommittees for their invaluable contributions to the development of Chinese medicine.

The membership of the CMDC and the two sub-committees, effective from February 1, 2019, are as follows:

The CMDC

Chairman

Secretary for Food and Health

Non-official Members

# Mr Chan Wing-kwong

- # Professor Chen Hubiao
- \* Dr Vincent Chung Chi-ho

\* Ms Feng Jiu

# Miss Ada Ho Ching-ying

# Mrs Jeanie Hu Leung Tze-wai # Miss Hui So-fong \* Professor Lao Lixing \* Professor Lee Chack-fan \* Professor Leung Ting-hung \* Mr Tommy Li Ying-sang \* Professor Lyu Aiping # Dr Lui Sing-leung # Dr Or Ka-hang # Ms Tang Mui-fun # Dr Tse Man-li # Ms Wang Huimin \* Mr Kenlay Wong Kong-hui # Ms Wong Suet-ying # Miss Wong Yu-yeuk \* Ms Teresa Yeung Siu-lin # Mr Timothy Yung Tsz-ho Ex-officio Members Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health) Commissioner for Innovation and Technology Director of Health Chief Executive of the Hospital Authority Note: # New appointments \* Re-appointments The CMPSC Chairman Ms Feng Jiu Non-official Members Professor Bian Zhaoxiang Mr Chan Kam-wah Mr Jacob Chan Wai-ho Mr Chan Wing-kwong Dr Vincent Chung Chi-ho Miss Ada Ho Ching-ying Dr Ho Wing-tim Mrs Jeanie Hu Leung Tze-wai Miss Hui So-fong Mr Lam Kar-wing Miss Lam Pui-yan Professor Lao Lixing Dr Peggy Lee Siu-pik Professor Leung Ting-hung

Mr Tommy Li Ying-sang Professor Liong Ching Miss Irene Lui Kam-oi Dr Lui Sing-leung Dr So Tsz-him Dr Tse Man-li Ms Wang Huimin Dr Wong Chung-leung Ms Wong Hung-ngan Professor James Wong Ngar-kok Ms Wong Suet-ying Miss Wong Yu-yeuk Ex-officio Members Representative(s) from the Food and Health Bureau Representative(s) from the Department of Health Representative(s) from the Hospital Authority The CMISC Chairman Mr Tommy Li Ying-sang Non-official Members Professor Chen Hubiao Mr Cheung Chun-hoi Dr Priscilla Choy Wai-fun Miss Ada Ho Ching-ying Miss Hui So-fong Professor Lao Lixing Mr Dominic Lam Chun-hong Ms Li Handong Mr William Lo Ching-ping Miss Winnie Ng Wing-mui Dr Or Ka-hang Mr Tam Kwok-leung Ms Tang Mui-fun Mr Ting Wing-fai Mr Tsang Yiu-tong Mr Wong Ka-on Mr Kenlay Wong Kong-hui Ms Wong Suet-ying Mr Harry Yeung Kwok-chun Mr Timothy Yung Tsz-ho Dr Zhang Qingling Ex-officio Members

Representative(s) from the Food and Health Bureau Representative(s) from the Department of Health Representative(s) from the Innovation and Technology Commission