<u>Appointments to Advisory Committee on</u> <u>Mental Health</u>

The Government announced today (November 29) the re-appointment of Mr Wong Yan-lung, SC, as the Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Mental Health and the re-appointment of 18 incumbent members as well as the appointment of four new members for a two-year term from December 1, 2019, to November 30, 2021.

The four newly appointed members are Dr Patrick Ip Pak-keung (a paediatrician), Ms Jolene Mui (a psychiatric nurse), Mr Ricky Leung Wai-kay (a primary school principal) and Ms Lily Chan (a carer of persons with mental health needs).

The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, expressed her heartfelt gratitude to the Chairman and members of the Committee for their valuable advice in the past two years. She also thanked the four outgoing members, Ms Glendy Ip Suk-han, Dr Josephine Grace Wong Wing-san, Mr Dicky Lam Ka-hong and Miss Twiggy Chan Cheuk-ki for their contributions to the work of the Committee during their tenure.

The Committee, established in December 2017, advises the Government on mental health policies, including the establishment of more integral and comprehensive approaches to tackle multi-faceted mental health issues in Hong Kong. In the new term, the Committee will continue to assist the Government in developing policies, strategies and measures to enhance mental health services in Hong Kong. It will also follow up on and monitor the implementation of the recommendations of the Mental Health Review Report.

The new membership of the Committee from December 1, 2019, is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Wong Yan-lung, SC

Non-official members

Healthcare sector

Dr Felix Chan Hon-wai Professor Eric Chen Yu-hai Dr Hung Se-fong Dr Patrick Ip Pak-keung Professor Linda Lam Chiu-wa Dr David Lau Ying-kit Dr Eugenie Leung Yeuk-sin Ms Jolene Mui Social service and education sectors

Mr Chua Hoi-wai Ms Kimmy Ho Wai-kuen Mr Frederick Lai Wing-hoi Mr James Lam Yat-fung Mr Ricky Leung Wai-kay Professor Samson Tse Shu-ki Ms Anita Wong Yiu-ming Professor Loretta Yam Yin-chun

Lay persons

Ms Lily Chan Lei-hung Ms Lily Chan Mr William Choy Mr Stephen Leung Mung-hung Professor Naubahar Sharif Miss Yuen Shuk-yan Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo

Ex-officio members

Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health) or representative Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative Permanent Secretary for Education or representative Director of Health or representative Director of Social Welfare or representative Director (Cluster Services), Hospital Authority Chairman, Coordinating Committee in Psychiatry, Hospital Authority Principal Assistant Secretary for Food and Health (Health)3 (Secretary)