<u>Appointments to Advisory Committee on Chinese Medicine Development Fund</u>

The Government announced today (February 26) the re-appointment of Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak as the Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Chinese Medicine Development Fund, the appointment of Dr Priscilla Choy Wai-fun as a new member, and the re-appointment of 13 incumbent members to the Committee.

All appointments will take effect on March 1, 2021, for a term of two years.

Since the establishment of the Chinese Medicine Development Fund (CMDF) in 2019, various funding schemes have been launched in phases to support training, improvement of clinic facilities, enhancement of proprietary Chinese medicine (pCm) manufacturing quality and management systems, pCm registration, promotion of Chinese medicine (CM), applied studies and research. The Committee has provided professional and valuable advice on matters relating to the scope, implementation, promotion and vetting of applications of these funding schemes. As at the end of 2020, over 900 funding applications had been approved.

The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, thanked the Chairman and members of the Committee for their invaluable contributions over the past two years, and expressed the hope that the Committee could foster the development of CM in Hong Kong by continuing to offer views and recommendations on the overall administration and operation of the CMDF. Professor Chan also thanked the outgoing member, Ms Anne Chuah Ah-poh, and commended her contribution to the Committee.

The membership of the Committee, with effect from March 1, 2021, is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak

Non-official Members

Professor Bian Zhaoxiang

Dr Chan Kei-wai

Mr Chan Wing-suen

Dr Priscilla Choy Wai-fun

Professor Feng Yibin

Ms Lam Pui-yan

Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan

Mr Henry Lee Kai-ping

Dr Liong Ching

Mr Gerry Ma Kwai-yung

Dr Or Ka-hang Ms Wang Huimin Mr Wong Ka-on Professor Justin Wu Che-yuen

Ex-officio Members

Representative(s) from the Food and Health Bureau Representative(s) from the Department of Health Representative(s) from the Hospital Authority Representative(s) from the Innovation and Technology Commission