## <u>Appointments of members of Committee</u> <u>on the Promotion of Civic Education</u>

The Government announced today (March 31) the re-appointment of 12 members and appointment of four new members of the Committee on the Promotion of Civic Education (CPCE), for a two-year term starting from April 1, 2020.

The Home Affairs Bureau thanked outgoing members, Dr Chan Cheuk-hay, Mr George Lau Ka-keung, Mr Timmy Lee Tan-chun and Dr Wong Kwok-yan for their contributions during their term of service.

The membership list of the CPCE for the new term is as follows:

Re-appointed members

Dr Andrew Chiu Ka-yin Mr Stanley Choi Tak-shing Mr Andrew Fan Chun-wah Miss Sammi Fu Hiu-lam Miss Hung Wing-ki Mr Roger Kwan Ho-yeung Mr Lai Chin-hong Mrs Christine Lau Ma Ms Fonnie Leung Fung-yee Miss Bella Lo Sung-vi Ms Helen Lu Hai Mr Tang Kwong-shing New members Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting Mr Jonathan Chan Pok-chi Mr Robert Andrew Lui Chi-wang Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai Other non-official members of the Committee are as follows: Ms Melissa Kaye Pang (Chairperson) Miss Catherina Choy Mei-wa Ms Amy Fung Dun-mi Miss Maisy Ho Chiu-ha Mr Kinsey Ho Ka-tsun Mr Rex Ip Yik-nam Reverend Canon Peter Douglas Koon Ho-ming Mr Lam Cheung-chi Mr Liu Ah-chuen Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo Mr Laurence Tang Yat-long

Dr Yan Wai-kiu Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing Ms Jennifer Yeung Yin-chi

The official members of the Committee include representatives from the Home Affairs Bureau, the Education Bureau, the Information Services Department, the Department of Justice, the Social Welfare Department, the Hong Kong Police Force, Radio Television Hong Kong and the Independent Commission Against Corruption.

The CPCE is a non-statutory advisory body. It advises the Government on the objective and scope of civic education, promotes civic education outside schools through a range of publicity and educational programmes, and assists in the implementation of various funding schemes to support non-governmental organisations in carrying out civic education projects.