<u>Appointment of Chairman and members to Hospital Authority</u>

The Government announced today (September 12) that, in accordance with the Hospital Authority Ordinance, the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Henry Fan Hung-ling as the Chairman of the Hospital Authority (HA), and at the same time appointed two new members and re-appointed three serving members. The appointments and reappointments are for two years with effect from December 1, 2019.

Mr Fan is the managing director of a property investment company. He was called to the Bar by Lincoln's Inn, England and practised law as a barristerat-law in Hong Kong. He is also a non practising Attorney-at-law in California, the United States. Mr Fan is currently a member of the Chief Executive's Council of Advisers on Innovation and Strategic Development, the Financial Services Development Council and the Board of West Kowloon Cultural District Authority. He was a non-official member of the Executive Council of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and chaired the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority, the Standing Committee on Disciplined Services Salaries and Conditions of Service, and the Advisory Committee on Admission of Quality Migrants and Professionals. Appointed to the HA Board on December 1, 2018, Mr Fan has been actively participating in the Board's business and is a member of the Hospital Governing Committee of the Kwai Chung Hospital and Princess Margaret Hospital, Finance Committee, Human Resources Committee, Main Tender Board and Medical Services Development Committee.

The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, welcomed the appointment of Mr Fan as the new Chairman. She said, "Mr Fan will bring with him a wealth of management experience in a wide spectrum of businesses. He has also demonstrated leadership and full commitment to public service. Given Mr Fan's outstanding record of community service, I am confident that under his chairmanship, HA would continue to provide high-quality public healthcare services in Hong Kong. I wish Mr Fan every success in taking up the new role."

Professor Chan also welcomed the appointments of two new members, Mr Billy Wong Wing-hoo and Mr Duncan Chiu Tat-kun, as well as the reappointments of three serving members, Mr Ivan Sze Wing-hang, Mr Jason Yeung Chi-wai and Ms Priscilla Wong Pui-sze. Brief biographies of the new members are as follows:

Mr Billy Wong Wing-hoo is a registered professional engineer and a director of a real estate development company. He is currently a Permanent Supervisor of the Hong Kong Construction Association, a member of the Airport Authority and a director of the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park.

Mr Duncan Chiu Tat-kun is the co-founder and managing director of a

venture capital fund. He is currently the President of the Hong Kong Information Technology Joint Council, a Director of the Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited and a member of the Board of Directors of Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute.

Professor Chan expressed her heartfelt thanks to the outgoing Chairman, Professor John Leong Chi-yan, and two outgoing members, Mr Andrew Fung Hauchung and Mr Stephen Lee Hoi-yin, for their invaluable contributions to HA over the past six years.

Professor Leong has demonstrated strong professionalism and full dedication in leading the HA to provide comprehensive quality medical care for the community since December 2013. Professor Leong's outstanding leadership was manifested in the successful implementation of the various recommendations of the HA Review to rationalise cross-cluster service management, optimise resource allocation and enhance patient services. With his visionary insight, Professor Leong has driven the development of the public healthcare system, strengthened the governance of the HA, and led the HA to rise to the various challenges, which allowed the HA to make substantial achievements in service modernisation and quality enhancement.

With the new appointments, the HA will comprise a Chairman, 22 non-official members, three public officers and one principal officer from the HA. The membership list with effect from December 1, 2019 is as follows:

Chairman:

Mr Henry Fan Hung-ling

Non-official Members: Professor Francis Chan Ka-leung Professor Chan Wai-yee Ms Anita Cheng Wai-ching Mr Duncan Chiu Tat-kun Mr David Fong Man-hung Mr Ambrose Ho Pui-him Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi Mr Daniel Lam Chun Mr Quinton Lam Chun-ki Mr Franklin Lam Fan-keung Professor Wallace Lau Chak-sing Ms Lisa Lau Man-man Professor Gabriel Matthew Leung Dr Lo Wai-kwok Professor David Shum Ho-keung Mr Ivan Sze Wing-hang Professor Agnes Tiwari Fung-yee Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung Ms Priscilla Wong Pui-sze Mr Billy Wong Wing-hoo Mr Jason Yeung Chi-wai

Mr Charlie Yip Wing-tong

Public Officers:

Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health), Ms Elizabeth Tse Director of Health, Dr Constance Chan Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Treasury), Mr Raistlin Lau

HA Principal Officer: Chief Executive, HA, Dr Tony Ko